Social Media/ Web Desk:
Taking photos and recording videos of almost every fun, important, and random moment has become common in the contemporary world, but not every memory should leave a digital print.
WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature “View Once” photos and videos that disappear from the chat after they’ve been opened, giving users greater control over their privacy. This feature provides users with a chance to share the moment with others and not leave a digital footprint.
“As with all the personal messages you send on WhatsApp, ‘View Once’ media is protected by end-to-end encryption so WhatsApp cannot see them,” the messaging app’s blog said.
“Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery. Once you send a view once a photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again,” WhatsApp said in a statement.
New feature alert!
You can now send photos and videos that disappear after they’ve been opened via View Once on WhatsApp, giving you more control over your chats privacy! pic.twitter.com/Ig5BWbX1Ow
— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) August 3, 2021
They will also be clearly marked with a new “one-time” icon. After the media has been viewed, the message will appear as “opened” to avoid any confusion about what was happening in the chat at the time. This feature also won’t allow forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with the view once media is enabled.
We’re rolling out the feature to everyone starting this week and are looking forward to feedback on this new way to send private and disappearing media, the messaging app said.