Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif elected as the 23rd premier of Pakistan.

PTI's boycott the polling process, Shah Mahmood Qureshi, received no votes.


PMLN leader Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif was elected as the 23rd premier of Pakistan on Monday following the ouster of PTI chairman Imran Khan from the office of the prime minister. He secured 174 votes.

PTI’s candidate Shah Mahmood Qureshi, received no votes after his party decided to boycott the polling process.

The poll took place under the chairmanship of MNA Ayaz Sadiq,  two days after the lower house of Parliament voted in favour of removing Imran Khan from office, following a nearly 14-hour standoff between the Opposition and Khan’s ruling party that started on Saturday morning.

The Monday session formally started after a brief delay with a recitation of the Holy Quran and naat, with NA Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri in the chair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *